This Week in Wrestling

New blog, new voice, same IWC bitching.

This is Brandon here, and here at Give ‘em the Chair Wrestling (GeCW), I’m going to give my opinions on the world of professional wrasslin’ every week. I’ll focus on the mainstays at first (WWE’s Raw and SmackDown), and possibly spread into other realms as this blog (hopefully) grows. I’ll also do a Sunday week in review where I’ll touch on the topics I feel like rehashing briefly from the previous week’s events. I’ll also preview whatever WWE Network special/PPV may be on the horizon, such as next week’s Payback. As I find my groove, I’ll modify things here and there, but for now, let’s jump right in to the past week’s shenanigans…

Monday – Braun is War

Braun Strowman dragging a helpless Kalisto through the backstage area may have been my favorite moment from the year of wrestling so far. Claiming he wasn’t leaving alone while basically turning an adult man into a souvenir cup from your favorite local brewery is the epitome of badass. He was the ultimate monster heel and simultaneously the most over babyface in the world. It was magic. They didn’t even have to blow up the ring that night to make me happy. I mean, I still appreciate Braun destroying everything (even if many astute Twitter users called it the moment Raw went on the air due to the old-school ring sticking out like a sore thumb…), but when the day comes, I now want him to replace the Universal Title with Kalisto. Just take him, wrap him around his waist and proclaim himself WWE Luchador Master.

I think other things happened on Raw, but nothing worth recapping. Oh, other than stating plainly that Raw needs to make Finn Balor it’s top babyface yesterday. That guy is special. But, yeah, Brauuuuun.

Tuesday – Wait, what!?!

Jinder Mahal is the number 1 contender for the WWE Championship. That sentence is a true statement. Meanwhile, AJ Styles, the best thing to happen to the WWE since the Summer of Punk, is the number 1 contender for the United States Championship. Which is held by Kevin Owens. I know SmackDown is an entertaining show, and a showcase for some of the best wrestling you’ll see in today’s WWE, but someone really dropped the ball in their writer’s room. They really should’ve just stuck AJ Styles into a triple threat against Orton and Wyatt, put the belt back on him, and let him be the torch bearer that he really is.

Cruiserweight progress – The King finds a prince?

TJ Perkins going heel is working. It shouldn’t, but it is. Watching a guy come out to video game music, who dabs, screams boring face, but now… That dab is a taunt, and you hate him for doing it. He’s now that cocky little shit who kills everyone at Call of Duty. It shouldn’t work, but it does.

Letting Neville and Austin Aries bleed into the rest of the division is a simple, yet effective way to grow the characters and give the fans reason to invest into these very talented wrestlers. Now, the WWE needs to just take the restraints off of them and let the flippy shit fly.

Miscellaneous

Orton/Wyatt is going to be a disaster. An absolute disaster.

I’m going to miss Chris Jericho.

Please don’t let Roman Reigns beat Strowman again. And don’t keep the Universal Title on Brock Lesnar until WrestleMania. Shove Reigns/Lesnar down our throats, but make that a match about the 2 in 23-2. Put the belt on Strowman, build him up, have Balor feud with him (Monster v. Demon King), losing at first, before unleashing the Demon on him and taking his belt back.

Shinsuke Nakamura is the most over wrestler to never wrestle on the main roster. It’s magic. Can’t wait to see him, Styles, and Kevin Owens fight forever on SmackDown Live.

Can we figure out what to do with The Club already?

A new Wyatt family could really give some of the roster a shot in the arm on Raw, but is anyone else worried about what the company is going to do with Luke Harper and Erick Rowan over on SmackDown without Bray?

Can I get a Kalisto-being-dragged-by-Braun shirt on the WWE Shop? Take all my money!

Am I the only one who doesn’t want a Shield reunion? I know it’s coming, but…

Dumpster match. No. Luggage match. Yes. Just because I want to see Braun stuff Kalisto into a suitcase.

I miss the Big Gold Belt.

When Bray Wyatt finishes the Balor feud, can he just torment Matt Hardy until he is… BROKEN?

Twitter – https://twitter.com/GeCWrestling, @GeCWrestling

 

Leave a comment